top of page

The Stork has arrived, Music Monday

You made the right decision, in return I'm going to post some music/songs that are personally my favorite and who I think YOU should know. Luckily for me and my ears, my 21 yr old car stereo is busted so I don't have to listen to the same songs over and over again from the radio. Thus, I discover new music from Pandora to YouTube to going to shows, to tracking down a certain song from a set list. Clearly, I'm dedicated to finding out new music.

My first 3log (see what I did there) post is dedicated to a 23 year old who dropped out of college to pursue music that has risen to many peoples playlists as well as the mainstage at EDC NY, Vegas, Ultra, & Electric Zoo in the past three years. His name is 3LAU (pronounced like BLAU, like his last name, first name Justin.) He is not only a DJ that pushes buttons and turns knobs but grew up playing piano, guitar, and singing. His songs (I'll get to later) have that acoustic touch that were graced by him.

I stumbled upon 3LAU HAUS, a college mashup on fratmusic.com in 2011 and since then new 3LAU HAUS of mashups were released, over 20 volumes. The first time I saw him was Fall 2012 at a fraternity party at USC. I then saw him at Marquee nightclub in Vegas for my 21st birthday in the summer of 2013. Since then his 3LAU HAUS has been recognized enough to allow him to play night clubs, across the country, college campuses, and as of 2014 many festivals.

It's nice to follow someone and see their progress. 3LAU is the definition of hard work pays off. Dropping out of college to pursue his music career was defitinely worth it having a residency at the new Drais in Vegas. After multiple volumes of 3LAU HAUS, he has been releasing his own originals, that feature Botnek, Bright Lights, and a bootleg from Tiesto, that range from calming progressive house like "Escape" to "Vikings" that I guarantee you, once the drop hits you'ree going to be jumping.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page